The Iowa Department of Natural Resources seeks public comment on its updated lists of Iowa’s impaired waterways, including several bodies of water within Dickinson County.

  • Emerson Bay, West Lake Okoboji
  • Lower Gar
  • Center Lake
  • Diamond Lake
  • Little Spirit Lake
  • Pleasant Lake
  • Little Swan Lake
  • Silver Lake
  • Little Sioux River
  • Prairie Lake


Both Marble Lake & Minnewashta Lake are proposed to be dropped from the list of impaired waterways pending approval from the Environmental Protection Agency.

Public comment is welcomed through March 19, 2022 and should be sent to:

Iowa DNR – Attn Impaired Waters, Wallace State Office Building, 502 E. 9th St., Des Moines, IA 50319